Smith O'Brien Quarterback of the Week

  • By Anna Glazer
  • |
  • September 05, 2012 12:30 PM
  • |
Senior Geno Smith has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week after leading West Virginia to a 69-34 victory over Marshall. The 69 points were the most ever scored by the Mountaineers in a season-opening game.

Smith, who exited the game early in the fourth quarter, turned in a near-perfect performance completing 32-of-36 passes for 323 yards and four touchdowns. The Miami native was also dominant on the ground, picking up 65 rushing yards and a touchdown.

"I was really pleased with how Geno played," said West Virginia coach Dana Holgorsen. "He did a great job of taking care of the ball, leading the team and leading the offense."

The Mountaineers have to sit through a bye-week before taking on James Madison at FedExField in Landover, Md. on Sept. 15.

Honorable Mention for Week One:

Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East
Nick Florence, Baylor, Big 12
Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten
Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
Ryan Nassib, Syracuse, Big East
Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC
Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, SEC

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced Oct. 22. Finalists will be announced Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced Dec. 6.

About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.


West Virginia Mountaineers, WVU, Geno Smith, Davey O'Brien Award